RSS

Sub-Editing Kasterborous

17 Dec

ADVENT DAY SEVENTEEN: Christmas. It’s not long away. And to celebrate advent, new content will be added to this blog every day in the countdown to the big day. You’ll see reviews, opinion pieces, links to some of my other work, videos – maybe even a short story! Remember to check back every day (in between the mad rush of packing presents, getting the freezer stocked up and watching Home Alone on repeat).

I’ve been lucky enough to be approached by my Kasterborous editor, Christian, to help sub-edit the site occasionally; a job I’ve happily taken on!

JLC by TARDIS

Aside from the usual editing tasks – checking spelling, syntax, grammar, punctuation etc – I’m responsible for adding images, tags and things like that.

My first published piece was Peruvian Who? by Meredith Burdett. I was quite nervous publishing anything that wasn’t, y’know, on this blog. Oh, the responsibility! But it went fine, and I got nice feedback from Christian. He was even supportive when I accidentally published an article before its featured image or tags had been added. (I basically pressed ‘publish’ instead of ‘preview’!)

When I first started, Kasterborous was having a bit of a makeover: there was initially a scrolling bar at the top of the homepage, featuring an image and some text to the left-hand side.

One of my jobs was picking these featured images, so once I tested the new site out, I realised that the text on the scroll bar obscured parts of the image. So I decided to pick images where the central character was offset to the right, with examples including Matt and Jenna’s “Good Chemistry”, which showed Jenna-Louise Coleman’s Oswin Oswald, and Hitchcock vs. Dream Lord.

Hitchcock vs Dream Lord

A few of my other sub-edited pieces include: Exclusive Nicholas Briggs Interview; So What (She’ll Be A Who Star?!); Andrew Cartmel Needs You!; What We Know About Christmas 2012; Matt Smith Wants Danny Boyle To Direct; and Matt Smith Teases 50th Anniversary, Live Events.

I was drafted in again to help out on the sub-editing front last week, and my most recent sub-edited articles include: Doctor Who Continues in April 2013!; Your Personal Desktop TARDIS!; and The Tiptons Talks Assimilation2.

Jenna - good chemistry

Big thanks to Christian for trusting me with one of the biggest Doctor Who sites, and fingers crossed he’ll let me loose again soon…

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

