RSS

About Me (extended)

30 Apr

“I don’t know! Never did decipher that writing. But that’s good! Day I know everything; might as well stop…”

–          The Doctor (The Satan Pit)

I’m Philip Bates, and I’m trying my best to make it in this scary world. I’ve always wanted to be a writer (or artist) and have found myself on a Professional Writing Foundation Degree course at Weston College. My lecturers are really inspiring, sharing their experience in the industry with us and pushing us further all the time. But don’t tell them I said that.

Just like every other writer, I started off small, working on my school’s newsletter, where I got experience interviewing and reporting news, alongside my comic creation, Monkey Boy (the less said the better, I feel). I moved onto the Yearbook, and was involved in a short newspaper-creation course for The Times Education Supplement, including an interview with our then-local MP, Brian Cotter. A nerve-wracking experience, considering I was given about ten minutes prior to the interview to think up some questions, and knew less about politics than a slice of bread.

I have worked on a couple of Higher Education newsletters, as well as finally getting my work in the public-eye in the form of the College’s prospectus. I’m framing it tomorrow.

My reviews of the highly-enjoyable  Armstrong and Miller Show Tour, which began at Bristol Hippodrome, can be found at:

http://www.guide2bristol.com/news/955/Comedy-review-The-Armstrong-and-Miller-Show-at-the-Bristol-Hippodrome-theatre

http://www.bristol247.com/2010/09/25/armstrong-and-miller-double-act-deserve-ongoing-popularity/

Furthermore, my Have you Ever…? piece is to be published in an upcoming issue of Real Travel.

I have loved Marvel Comics since I was introduced to them at the age of three, thanks to the fantastic 1990’s Spider-man animated series, while my other passion comes in the form of an ancient Time Lord travelling around in a 1960’s Police Box. My little brain will implode if someone asks me a Who– or Marvel– related question that I don’t know the answer to. You don’t want that to happen, now do you?

I am also interested in art, history and astronomy, although I’m open to anything, really. Please e-mail me with any suggestions.

E-mail: prbates36@hotmail.co.uk

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 30, 2010 in Unpublished work

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
