Still Lost in Time

13 Dec

ADVENT DAY THIRTEEN: To celebrate advent, I’ll be adding new content to this blog every day in the countdown to Christmas; reviews, opinion pieces, short stories… that sort of thing! So make sure you pop back in between shopping, packing presents and nursing a headache.

It was announced on Sunday that two episodes of 1960’s Doctor Who have been found; Galaxy Four: Air Lock and The Underwater Menace: Part Two. Long-thought lost, they haven’t been seen since the mid- to late-Sixties. Incredible.

But there are 106 episodes of Doctor Who still missing from the BBC archives, believed wiped forever. However, the recent discoveries are proof that all is not lost. If you think you’ve got any old footage, contact the BBC  – not just complete episodes; clips are just as sought-after, and not just Doctor Who; any old shows that may have been missing! You’ll make a lot of people happy.

Here is a list of the 106 Doctor Who episodes still lost in time and space and relative dimension:

The First Doctor (William Hartnell):

Marco Polo

Marco Polo – All 7 episodes;

The Reign of Terror – Episodes 4–5 (of 6 total);

The Crusade – Episodes 2, and 4 (of 4 total);

Galaxy 4 – Episodes 1, 2 and 4 (of 4 total);

Mission to the Unknown – One-off episode;

The Myth Makers – All 4 episodes;

The Daleks’ Master Plan – Episodes 1, 3–4, 6–9, 11–12 (of 12 total);

The Massacre of St Bartholomew’s Eve – All 4 episodes;

The Celestial Toymaker – Episodes 1–3 (of 4 total);

The Savages – All 4 episodes;

The Smugglers – All 4 episodes;

The Tenth Planet – Episode 4 (of 4 total).

The Second Doctor (Patrick Troughton):

Fury from the Deep

The Power of the Daleks – All 6 episodes;

The Highlanders – All 4 episodes;

The Underwater Menace – Episodes 1 and 4 (of 4 total);

The Moonbase – Episodes 1, and 3 (of 4 total);

The Macra Terror – All 4 episodes;

The Faceless Ones – Episodes 2, 4–6 (of 6 total);

The Evil of the Daleks – Episodes 1, 3–7 (of 7 total);

The Abominable Snowmen – Episodes 1, 3–6 (of 6 total);

The Ice Warriors – Episodes 2–3 (of 6 total);

The Enemy of the World – Episodes 1–2, 4–6 (of 6 total);

The Web of Fear – Episodes 2–6 (of 6 total);

Fury from the Deep – All 6 episodes;

The Wheel in Space – Episodes 1–2, 4–5 (of 6 total);

The Invasion – Episodes 1, 4 (of 8 total);

The Space Pirates – Episodes 1, 3–6 (of 6 total).

(Thanks to DrWho-Online.)


Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: